Thursday, December 29, 2011

Cebu and Videoke

I know it is a national phenomenon, but oh boy how Cebuano loves Videoke.  Wait, is it possible that those videoke addicts in Manila are originally from Cebu?  I will not be surprised.

Maybe because I live in a hill, where at night I can hear all the sounds from the Lahug and Apas valleys. 

What makes it even more interesting is their song choices.  On the eve of Dec 25, there are 3 very audible videokes simultaneously making their voices heard.  And from there I deduce what Cebuanos love to sing.

1) 80's Music.  Well actually not only 80's music but the 80's German music.  I did not know Modern Talking had that many songs, until Videoke#1 decided to sing the anthology album version of the German band.  I am seriously comtemplating on whether to tell my German friends.  It can lead to two things:  them laughing at me real hard or German tourism boom to Cebu.  Let me think about it.

2) Tagalog tragic love songs.  This surprised me the most.  I did not think they would know much less sing Tagalog songs.  I thought they despised the language.  Maybe it is not the tragic songs,  maybe it is the belting songs that they prefer.  Well, it just so happened that many of the belting songs are the tragic songs.  I am talking about Hiram (borrowed) by ZsaZsa, Pangarap na Bituin (Dream Star) by Ate Shawie, or any Jessica Zaragoza song, all are tragic anyway. 

3) For the men, it is a similar story.  I just noticed that they sing less Tagalog songs, but yes, still the tragic songs.  Like those from Michael Bolton or Engelbert Humperdinck.  I just realized if I only had one choice and a gun was pointed on my head I prefer Am I That Easy to Forget over How am I Supposed to Live Without You!

Oh, and one more interesting thing.  No one has sung My Way yet.  I just realized that.

Sukli (Change)

Officemates who are Cebu locals take pride in telling me that here in Cebu taxi drivers give exact change.  So on my first month in Cebu, I had to experience it myself.  And they were right.  Cebu cab drivers give exact change up to the last 50cents.

One time, manong driver was even apologetic because he does not have 50cents.  So, he only gave me 8pesos back instead of 8.50.  One of our HR specialists told a story about a cab driver from the airport who was willing to receive 320pesos for a metered fare of 327.50, because the driver did not have enough change for 400 pesos!

So this is one thing I have to learn.  I am used to cab drivers in Manila who would not give 20Pesos change.  For so long, it is either them the driver or me the passenger who assumed that if the change is less than 20bucks, it is keep the change.  So if your meter shows 82.50 and you only have 100pesos.  There is very small chance that you will get a change for that.  And interestingly, even I the passenger already assumes so.  I think we have just gotten used to it.

My Cebu friends would reprimand me for always asking the driver to keep the change.  They say that they don't want Cebuanos to be favoring tourists and foreigners, who usually gives extra tip or at least do not get the sukli.  They say that I will be here for a few years, but they will stay here and live the customs.

And most of the time, I still cannot do it.  And I still apologize profusely to my Cebuano friends, as I do understand their point.  I still am learning.  But most of the time failing, I just asked the cab driver to keep the change 3x this week.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Because I said yes

On Aug 1, I made a decision that will alter all the plans I made for myself.  After working in Manila for 19 years, I accepted an assignment in Cebu.  I initially thought the assignment was for only a year. Until I read the contract...I will be here for quite a while.